~/sa/competitions-prizes ~/sa/competitions ~/sa/prizes
bahis siteleri
pendik escort

Walkerville Civic & Community Centre by JPE Design
photo credit Lyndon Stacy

What's on SA

20 Aug Emerging Architects Prize Tour
29 Aug Co-opertition Steel Forum
5 Sep  Archispiel

South Australian Competitions & Prizes

Emerging Architect Prize

About the Prize

The Emerging Architect Prize recognises an individual emerging architect or emerging architectural collaboration’s contribution to architectural practice, education, design excellence and community involvement, which advances the profession’s role within the public arena. Entrants need to be nominated by a member of the Australian Institute of Architects.

The Emerging Architect Prize is proudly sponsored by Architectural Window Systems (AWS).


The Jack Hobbs McConnell Travelling Fellowship is for promising designers, who might ultimately practice in South Australia, to undertake an independent program of research or course of further study in Architecture or a related field, most likely overseas.

Established in 2007 following a bequest from the estate of the late modernist architectural figure, the Fellowship is for an amount up to $15,000. Applicants must be members of the Institute and graduates in architecture from the University of South Australia or University of Adelaide of up to six years standing*.

Institute National President at the time of Jack McConnell's death, Warren Kerr, said 'Jack McConnell's influence in shaping the architects and the architecture of Australia was considerable. He pioneered modern architecture in South Australia and was without doubt the first serious modernist to build modern buildings in Adelaide.' 

To apply

Applications for the Jack Hobbs McConnell Travelling Fellowship are usually advertised in October.

Past Fellowships

Congratulations to 2019 Jack Hobbs McConnell Fellow, Todd Hislop - Future Practice
  • 2017 Matiya Marovich Timber Futures
  • 2016 Alex Kindlen - encounter: cultivating creative cities
  • 2015 Dino Vrynios - Modulation
  • 2014 Stephen Hooper – a [fabricate]d craft
  • 2013 David Bickmore – Architourism
  • 2012 Damien Chwalisz – Potentials for timber construction
  • 2011 Katie Lawson – Contemporary Wine Architecture
  • 2010 Esther Chew – RICE: India, Nepal, Bangladesh
  • 2009 Mark Berlangieri – The worldwide shift in retail architecture
  • 2008 Anthony Balsamo – Becoming the festival state

Sir James Irwin President's Medal

The Sir James Irwin President's Medal is awarded once in each President's term to a member or industry collaborative considered by the President to have made a significant contribution to architecture. It was established in 1992 through the generosity of the Irwin family in memory and in recognition of the services to architecture of Sir James Irwin.

This year's winner of the Sir James Irwin President's Medal is Steve Grieve, Grieve Gillett Andersen

image: Stephen Gray

SA Chapter President Tony Giannone's Citation

This year’s recipient of the Sir James Irwin President’s Medal amplifies the meaning of collaboration in South Australian design.

As a stalwart of Adelaide’s architectural profession his advocacy towards all things South Australian is lauded and celebrated. 

With an often larrikin approach, his passion for defending and advocating for local representation and the contribution of our profession has seen him, at times, at odds with the powers that be -  when they are more interested in the national and global connect.

A passionate supporter of the Arts and their inherent link with architecture he has served on numerous boards and committees from the Experimental Arts Foundation, Country Arts SA, Regional Arts Australia to the Adelaide Fringe Board amongst others.

Graduating in 1975 he was the recipient of an Institute Special Award for Performing Arts in 1996 and a Churchill Fellowship in 2008. He served as the South Australian Chapter President between 2013 - 2015 and as the National Honorary Secretary in 2014. Advocacy in promoting the use of local alumni in South Australian projects resounded across his tenure.

As a teacher he has contributed to furthering education in this State and was a Professor at the University of Adelaide in the School of Architecture and Built Environment between 2013 - 2018. 

Steve Grieve Architects was founded in 1982 and after 37 years of practice has evolved into Grieve Gillett Anderson today. The Studio has passionately mentored the emerging and fostered many new practices over the years

Steve is the recipient of many projects and awards, too numerous to nominate, but known to many people in our profession. They have defined an Adelaide design vocabulary over many years. 

As is required to operate in the Adelaide landscape, Steve’s diverse portfolio of projects generated over 37 years of practice range from the arts, to residential to heritage, conservation and adaptive reuse, to infrastructure and the recent Anzac Centenary Memorial Walk.  The studio’s work is representative of all that is South Australian.

As a peer and sounding board he never shies away from sharing his intellect and streetwise experience with other members of the Profession. He has given back to our profession many times over.

It is my privilege and honour to bestow the Sir James Irwin Medal to Steve Grieve.

View the full list of Sir James Irwin President's Medallists

Below are our recent recipients and links to their citations.

City of Adelaide Prize

The City of Adelaide Prize, sponsored by the City of Adelaide, is a category within the prestigious South Australian Architecture Awards Program.

The City of Adelaide and the Australian Institute of Architects are working together to support the enhancement of the public experience of the City as South Australia’s Capital City.

The Prize recognises and awards innovative built projects including public art and temporary contributions to public space that activate and enliven the City’s public spaces and engage with the community, including urban experiments. 

Student Prizes

For over half a century, the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects has awarded prizes to outstanding students studying architecture in South Australia.

School of Art, Architecture and Design, University of SA

The Australian Institute of Architects (SA Chapter) Prizes are awarded to students based on academic excellence across the 5 years of the Bachelor of Architectural Studies and Master of Architecture degree programs in:

  • Documentation and Technical Studies
  • Communication
  • History and Theory
  • Environmental Studies
  • Integration of Research and Design

School of Architecture and Built Environment
, University of Adelaide
Australian Institute of Architects (South Australian Chapter) Prizes are awarded to one student for each year level of the Bachelor of Architectural Design program and to the Master of Architecture program students who achieve the highest results in:

  • aggregate in Architecture Studio (ARCH 7016) Semester 1 and Urban Design Studio (ARCH 7017) Semester 2
  • Studio: Architecture (M) (ARCH 7040) Semester 1
  • Final Architecture Project (M) (ARCH 7043) Semester 2

National Prizes & Competitions

The Australian Institute of Architects supports a range of prizes and competitions that recognise and reward outstanding contributions in the fields of architecture and the built environment.

Gold Medal for Architecture

Leadership in Sustainability Prize

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture

BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

COLORBOND Steel Student Biennale

William J Mitchell International Committee Prize

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize

Dulux Study Tour

Emerging Architect Prize

Graduate prizes

Other awards & prizes