bahis siteleri
pendik escort

Plane Tree House by Architects Ink

Plane Tree House by Architects Ink
photo credit: Sam Noonan

What's on SA

20 Aug Emerging Architects Prize Tour
29 Aug Co-opertition Steel Forum
5 Sep  Archispiel


2019 Juries

The Institute’s Architecture Awards recognise excellence and innovation in design and are conferred via a rigorous system of peer review.

The Institute’s awards program offers the most prestigious architecture awards in the country and the role of juror in the process is significant. This is a unique opportunity to contribute to the SA Architecture Awards and to share your insights with the profession.

This year's SA Awards Director is Michael Queale, Deputy Director is Kristy McMillan. Click here for a Message from the SA Awards Director.

2019 Juries


 City of Adelaide Prize
Kristy McMillan  Hodgkison  Deputy Awards Director &Jury Chair
 Arman Abrahimzadeh  City of Adelaide Councillor OAM  
 Elinor Walker  ESD Planning & Design  
 Emma Fey Guildhouse  
 Warwick Keates  Wax Design  
 Commercial Architecture
 Tony Materne  MPH Architects  Jury Chair
 Adrian Evans  JPE Design Studio  
 Zoe King  Cox Architecture  
 Katrina Worssam  Architectus  
 Educational Architecture
 Anthea Perkas  Brown Falconer  Jury Chair
 Geof Nairn  Sole Practitioner  
 Emma Wight  Studio Nine  
 Louise Nunn Messenger Newspapers  
 Heritage, Urban Design and Small Project Architecture
 Michael Pilkington Phillips Pilkington   Jury Chair
 Richard Woods Habitable Places   
 Colleen McDonald  Renewal SA  
 John Byleveld  Renewal SA  
 Interior Architecture
 Dave Bickmore  studio-gram  Jury Chair
 Mladen Zujic  Architects Ink  
 Alison McFadyen  Phillips Pilkington  
 Nathan James Crane  Minutia  
 Public Architecture
 Cheryl Vandenburg  DesignInc  Jury Chair
 Adrian Kenyon  Hassell  
 Eric Lien  Revolution Roofing  
 Steve Grieve  Grieve Gillett Andersen  
 Residential Architecture (Alterations and Additions)
 Sally Wilson  sw architects  Jury Chair
 Adam Brown  KHAB Architects  
 Kate Russo  Enzo Caroscio   
 Josh Fanning  CityMag  
 Residential Architecture (New and Multiple Housing)
 Anne Taylor Taylor Buchtmann Architecture  Jury Chair
 Sean Humphries  Black Rabbit Architecture + Interiors  
 John Endersbee  Locus Architecture  
 Ellen Liebelt  ODASA  
 Sustainable Architecture
 Sue Phillips  Phillips Pilkington  Jury Chair
 Tain Patterson  Troppo Architects  
 Alex Hall  Woods Bagot  
 Veronica Soebarto  University of Adelaide  
 Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture
 Mark Amos, Bluescope Steel, Jury Chair + all Jury Chairs


Jury Roles & Responsibilities

Awards Director

The Awards Director oversees and coordinates the jury deliberations.

Their responsibilities are to:

  • make overriding decisions with respect to the implementation of policy, particularly the category of entries;
  • work closely with Jury Chairs to ensure consistency across categories, and
  • encourage juries to act in the spirit of the Awards policy.

The Awards Director will be the Jury Chair of the Sustainable Architecture category and may not enter projects into the Awards program for the year they are in the position. They will guide and be assisted by the Deputy Awards Director, who will take on the role the following year. The Deputy may also be a member of any juries.

Jury Chairs

Jury deliberations and process are to be guided by each Jury Chair. Their responsibilities are to:

  • determine if a project should be reallocated to another category;
  • ensure that prescribed timelines for jury site visits and citations are adhered to;
  • act with politeness, fairness and respect to all entrants and fellow jurors;
  • operate with rigour and consistency;
  • follow all required elements of the judging process, and measure all entries against all relevant criteria.

Jury members

Jury members are responsible for:

  • ensuring that prescribed timelines for jury site visits are adhered to;
  • upholding the integrity and value of the Awards program
  • acting completely without bias;
  • declaring any interest which may conflict or be seen to conflict with your ability to make a fair
    assessment and be prepared to withdraw from such assessment, and making objective assessments considering all of the stated criteria.

Guest Jurors

The input of non-architect Jurors can be valuable and assist public recognition of outcomes. Guest/lay jurors should only be appointed where they have a clear connection with architecture or experience/knowledge of relevance to the particular jury. 

The Jury Chair and architect members of the jury will assist and guide guest/lay jurors in
understanding the process and any technical issues.

Specialist Advisors

Specialist advisors are selected for their particular expertise and to provide advice to a jury so that it may make an informed judgement in categories requiring a degree of specialist knowledge (such as heritage and sustainability).

Specialist advisors will only be appointed where the jury considers that additional expertise is necessary. No payment or benefit will be provided to specialist advisors without agreement.

Jury Process

Judging the Awards is undertaken using online entry data and images, as well as public presentations and project visits, as determined by the jury.

Step 1: Jurors review all the submitted project information and portfolio of images and plans for each applicable entry in their jury category/ies.

Step 2:
A briefing is held with all jurors and the Awards Directors, to understand more about the judging process, answer any questions you may have, and meet your Jury Chair and fellow jurors before the Jury Presentation Day.

Step 3: Jury Chairs meet together with the Awards Directors at three stages throughout the jury process; before the briefing, after presentations and after site visits before citations are finalised.

Step 4: All entrants are required to present publicly to the category Jury. At the Presentation Day, entrants are allocated 5 -7 minutes to present to the jury with a 2 minute warning and then several minutes for discussion and questions. Shortlisted entries may be required to present additionally to the Sustainable Architecture Jury.

Step 5: All or at least those shortlisted entries in the category are visited by the relevant jury accompanied by the client only. The Awards Manager will create a site visit schedule and ask the architect to arrange the jury site visit with their client. Juries have a strict timetable for visiting projects over multiple days and will spend approx. 30-45 minutes on site. Regional projects will be visited by a smaller number of jurors or the Jury Chair only, and may be given the opportunity to give an extended presentation to the jury, at the discretion of the Jury Chair and Awards Director.

Step 6: The Jury Chair, in consultation with jury members, are required to submit a written citation of up to 200 words per awarded project, a short piece for the awards night and a third summary statement about the category for publication and announcement at the Presentation Dinner.

Step 7:
Winners are announced at the annual South Australian Architecture Awards Presentation Dinner.

Conflicts of Interest

The process for managing conflicts of interest during the Awards program is the responsibility of the Awards Director and the Awards Manager. Jurors must declare any interest which may conflict or be seen to conflict immediately to determine the appropriateness of the Juror’s involvement in that particular assessment.

Jurors with an identified conflict of interest shall not participate in the assessment or consideration of entries in the relevant category(ies). In the instance of an identified conflict of interest, the final judgement of the category will be overseen by the Awards Director.