Colleges of Science Stage 1 - Lyons

Colleges of Science Stage 1, Lyons
photo Dianna Snape

What's On in ACT

Join the live recording of Radio National's Big Ideas Program Featuring Ric Thorp AM, New Parliament House Architect of Mitchell Giurgola Thorp & 2018 Walkley Award Winner Helen Pitt on the Opera House. 5pm-7.30pm  25 March 2019.




Australian Capital Territory – Chapter Council & Committees

This page has information on the ACT's Chapter Council, committees, forums, office holders and fellows.
For information on council or committee business, please contact the ACT Chapter office.

Chapter Council

The Chapter Council is responsible for managing the Institute's business and affairs in the ACT Chapter. The Chapter President is the National Councillor elected by the ACT Chapter members.

Chapter President
Philip Leeson FRAIA
Immediate Past President
Rob Henry RAIA
Chapter Council members
Shoba Cole RAIA
Will Gardner RAIA
Alastair MacCallum FRAIA
Yuri Leong-Maish RAIA
Sander de Vries RAIA
Shannon Battisson RAIA
Jack Shimada RAIA
John Ting RAIA
Jane Cassidy RAIA
Andrew Collins RAIA
SONA representative
Courtney Thoo
EmAGN representatives
Lester Yao

Committees & forums

In addition to the Chapter Council, there are the following associated committees and forums. For more information about these, our contact details can be found on the right hand side.

Practice Committee

This committee considers matters relating to the practice of architecture in the ACT. The practice committee also actively interacts with the local government and the community in order to recognise and deliver quality architecture and a sustainable built environment.  The committee contributes to ongoing training for the ACT membership (including PALS).

Members of the Practice Committee are Sander de Vries (Chair), Dean McPherson, Marcus Graham, Scott Hodgson, Shoba Cole, Will Gardner, Candida Griffiths, David Hobbes (APE), Malin Paulsson (PALS), Yuri Leong-Maish and Alvaro Gonzalez.

Terms of Reference - Practice Committee 2016

Sustainability Committee

Considerations and details of issues and policies related to the natural and built environment are the concern of the Sustainability Committee.

Institute committee members are Shannon Battisson (Chair), Ric ButtPeter Overton, Trevor Lee, Andrew Verri, Robbie Gibson, Alanna King, Yuri Leong-Maish, Ian Brumby, Jenny Edwards and Sarah Truscott. 

Non-Institute committee member Peter Lyons (Peter Lyons & Associates).

Education Committee

The Education Committee is concerned with the matters related to architectural education and the recognition of schools of architecture.

Committee members are Michael Jasper (Chair), Erin Hinton, Janet Thomson, Rob Henry, Jane Cassidy, Lester Yao (EmAGN rep) and Brett Luke (SONA rep).

Heritage Committee

This committee is responsible for the register of Significant 20th Century Architecture and issues relating to heritage and conservation of buildings. The committee writes citations for buildings and nominate buildings to the ACT Heritage List.

Committee members are Can Ercan (Chair), Ken Charlton, Eric Martin, Evan Williamson, Philip Leeson and Linda Ambrosiussen 

Terms of Reference - Heritage Committee

Small Practice Group

The Small Practice Group is a group of members who work in small practices, a number of whom are in sole practice and/or work at home. The members of the Small Practice Group organise their own agenda, which includes guest speakers and discussions with government officials on policy matters.

Geoff Lovie (Chair)

Terms of Reference - Small Practice Group



Planning Committee

This committee is involved with issues relating to planning policy in the ACT. The committee draws on expertise from various ACT Chapter members responding to calls for comment.

Committee members are Alan Morschel (Chair), Sheila Hughes, Catherine Townsend, Tony Trobe, Linda Ambrosiussen, Grahame Legge, Eamon O'Donoghue, Annette Pogas, David Flannery, Rob Henry and Allan Spira

Terms of Reference - Planning Committee

Honours Committee

The aim of this committee is to promote architecture to the community and recognise the work of our members. The committee assesses nominations for Institute and Civil Honours, and prepares documentation for submission to the National Honours Committee in support of nominations.

Committee members are Rob Henry (Chair), Catherine Townsend, Graham Humphries and Hal Guida.

EmAGN Committee

This is a network for emerging architects and graduates of architecture in the ACT. To get involved, our contact details can be found on the right hand side.

Members are Lester Yao (Chair), Rob Henry, Nikki Butlin and Jess de Rome.

Online nomination & voting

At the appropriate time members may nominate and, if a ballot is necessary, vote for:

  • Chapter Council
  • Chapter President
  • Nationally Elected Council Members
  • International Area Committee Members

Only eligible members may participate.

The Australian Institute of Architects' Online Nomination and Voting Service complies with the Institute's regulations for elections.

For support and assistance using this system please contact the Executive Support Team on or (02) 6121 2000.

Go to the online voting system.